Manager Minute - Madison Trunley - Human Resource Manager

Meet… Madison Trunley! Madison is the Human Resource Manager for the Standard Electric family of companies. She works out of our Milwaukee, WI location. Get to know Madison!

What’s your favorite indoor/outdoor activity? Why?

I enjoy taking my dog to new parks around the Milwaukee area with my husband. I also really enjoy traveling to new places. My family and I are currently planning a trip to London and Scotland.  

Ten years ago, are you where you thought you would be now? How alike or different is it compared to what you imagined?

Ten years ago, I had planned to be a special education teacher. I had completed three years of my degree before realizing I wanted to explore a career in business. I did not think that I would enjoy teaching for my entire career and felt I may become burnt out. I enjoy helping people and building relationships, so in some ways my current career relates.

Who inspires you? Why?

My husband inspires me. He is an extremely hard worker and very dedicated to his family. He will never begin something that he is unprepared for. If he doesn’t know much about something he will read books or listen to podcasts to learn more, and I really admire that about him.

What’s the best meal you’ve ever had?

One of the best meals I have had was at Osteria da Fortunata in Rome, Italy. The pasta was made in front of you before it was served. We also had several flavors of gelato each night from Gelateria Valentino.

What was the first concert you attended?

The first concert I ever attended was by Martina McBride. I was 8 and my grandparents brought me for my birthday.

What is your favorite part of working at Standard Electric? Why?

My favorite part of working at Standard Electric is the company culture and extensive training program for new associates. The culture allows for all associates to share their feedback and ideas to improve various areas of the business. The atmosphere is welcoming, and associates support each other.

What’s something most people don’t know about you?

Most people do not know that I grew up on a hobby farm with many animals and prefer to live in the country.

If you won the lottery, what is the first thing you would do?

I would buy a ranch to fill with cows, horses, and other animals. I love animals and would love to get back to riding horses regularly, like I did when I was a child.

If you could meet anyone, living or dead, who would you meet? Why?

I would love to meet Audrey Hepburn. I grew up watching her movies with my grandma and looked up to her as a ballerina and fashion icon.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?

My all-time favorite TV shows are Friends and New Girl. I rewatch Friends when I have nothing else to watch. I also appreciate a good thriller movie. I have seen most of them on Netflix and am always waiting for something new to come out.